Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee, or SAC, is an independent body within CEPI and is one of CEPI's core governance groups alongside the Board, Investors Council, and Joint Coordination Group.

three gradient circles on white background

How they work

The SAC provides scientific support, advice, and challenge to the CEPI Leadership and Board on a range of scientific issues related to vaccine research and development and manufacturing to support the effective implementation of CEPI’s strategic objectives.

SAC Members

  • Professor Alash’le Abimiku - International Research Centerof Excellence, Institute of Human Virology, Nigeria
  • Dr. Sani Aliyu - Cambridge University Hospitals Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
  • Professor Emeritus Vineeta Bal - Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune, India
  • Dr. Luciana Borio - Arch Venture Partners, USA
  • Dr. Paula Bryant - National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health, USA
  • Professor Christian Drosten - Charité–Universitätsmedizin, Berlin, Germany
  • Dr. Peter Dull - Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, USA
  • Dr. George Gao - Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention/Institute of Microbiology, China 
  • Professor Azra Ghani - Imperial College London, United Kingdom
  • Dr. Rebecca Grais - Pasteur Network, France
  • Dr. Emmanuel Hanon (Chair) - Vicebio, Belgium
  • Professor Ken J. Ishii - International Vaccine Design Center, The Institute of Medical Science, The University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Dr. Kent Kester - IAVI, USA
  • Professor Michael King - University of Virginia, USA
  • Dr. Phil Krause - WHO, USA
  • Professor Marc Lipsitch - Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, USA
  • Mr. Dominique Maugeais - RH Solutions, France
  • Dr. Krishna Mohan Vadrevu - Bharat Biotech International, India
  • Dr. Gary Nabel - ModeXTherapeutics, USA
  • Dr. Laura Palomares Aguilera - Instituto de Biotecnología, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), Mexico
  • Dr. Peter Paradiso - Paradiso Biologics Consulting, LLC, USA
  • Dr. Stanley Plotkin - University of Pennsylvania, USA
  • Dr. Mahmudur Rahman - GHD|EMPHNET, Bangladesh
  • Dr. Rino Rappuoli - Fondazione Biotecnopolo di Siena, Italy
  • Professor Marco Safadi - Santa Casa de Sao Paulo School of Medical Sciences, Brasil
  • Professor Stephen Thomas - SUNY Upstate Medical University, USA
  • Professor Linfa Wang - Duke-NUS Medical School, Singapore
More about our SAC

SAC meeting minutes

25 items

9.2 MB

three gradient circles on red background

Joint Coordination Group

Our Joint Coordination Group, or JCG, is a roundtable of independent institutions with an interest in seeing CEPI-funded vaccines successfully developed and deployed in an outbreak.

Read more
three red overlapping circles on blue background

Portfolio Strategy and Management Board

The PSMB is the decision-making body accountable for identification, selection, management and evaluation of CEPI’s R&D and Manufacturing portfolio.

Read more